Arrow
Arrow
ArrowArrow
Slider
His life his work

A solitary existence

His life

Chapter 6

A solitary existence

balcon

Ludwig II on the “Söller”, balcony of Neuschwanstein. Portrait ” der Einsame ” by Ferdinand Leeke, on 1890


Already attracted by the solitude, Ludwig will devote to it completely after the integration of Bavaria in the German empire in 1870. The world demoralized him and he wanted more than ever to thwart this ugliness by building castles which had to be the answer by the Art to the politicking world. From then on, Ludwig will live as he understands by steering himself far from Munich. It is the state which will have to come to him in his beloved mountains.

It will not be him forgiven this prank to the rules of the power: the legend of ” the crazy king ” will be propagated little by little. All his peculiarities will be interpreted in the wrong direction, its inclination to be lived at night, its taste for the beauty, its spending, its connections with his domestics, its clothing, linguistic habits, its character, etc. …

Throughout his life, the king will never lose his lucidity, on the other hand, he too much relied on people despicable as Holnstein, Mayr, Hesselschwerdt, or Ziegler. They will betray him when the wind will turn. It is corrupt servants who wait for the convenient moment to swamp him. It will be told that all that it is possible to tell, and these rumours persist even today while it is easy to demonstrate the opposite.

The intimate diaries of the king, among nine, will have to bring the proof of its homosexuality, while nothing allows to pull the slightest certainty.

To summarize little of passages which reached us (approximately 33 pages falsified, manipulated, on more than 400 written by Ludwig), and which nevertheless are supposed to condemn the king without appeal, it is question only of masturbation and not only once some intimate relation. It is necessary to give the effort to analyze the text: Ludwig condemns formally the carnal love, and when he speaks for example about ” the love and the friendship ” that he carries to Richard Hornig, you should not understand this “love” as a guilty relation. On the contrary, it is about an upper degree of the friendship, a kind of total spiritual relinquishment which requires the king on behalf of his friend. Ludwig uses a secret language, and behind the charges of “kisses” we can deduct nothing from private individual.

Any kiss which is not applied to a “sacred” object is considered by Ludwig as profane and consequently as “sensual”. So, the simple fact of testifying its affection by an embrace is felt as a curse. Ludwig curses these “kisses” and considers them as impure because they wake in him a need of tenderness which leads him almost always to the autoeroticism.

When king writes in his diary 8: ” a kiss, a pure receptacle of the friendship and Richard’s love “, he puts on the same plan this “kiss” and this “love” as on that of the ” pure receptacle “; it is not thus about carnal love nor even about a sensual touch. Ludwig does not use the same terms to qualify the pure love, in other words a superior friendship, and the sensual love, damned between all, that represents the masturbation.

Plainly terrorized and mortified by his tendency to the autoeroticism, Ludwig was never able to have the slightest claim in a homosexual relation, what prove diaries after an attentive reading. Ludwig condemns the sensual love whatever it is.

Consequently, to ask the question of the homosexuality of the king is a false question.

His nearness to the men people is only the result of its almost exclusively male education, and also probably narcissistic disorders stemming from the childhood which always push him towards people of his sex, as a kind of ideal mirror in the fact that he would like to be. On no account these connections are characterized by the guilty enjoyment. Ludwig was ever either “crazy”, it was neither a paranoiac, nor a schizophrenic, but a man become a depressive, a wounded person in its convictions of ideal, victim of his own sensibility.

His so-called inconsistent notes result from the dictation of such or such corrupt domestic either were purely and simply torn away from their real context. The king did not beat either up to the death his servants: irascible and requiring, he could manage at him at the most to be allowed go to one or two slaps in its worst days. If the faults had been graver, as it was able to claim it without more ample informed, why then to have waited for 1885-86 to speak? Even before this date, the king, of which the situation was already a criticism, would have been able to make nothing against such charges if they had been established. Now, 1885 is well the date which marks the effective beginning of the campaign of belittlement against him.

The big wrong of the king is to have wanted to live as he understood it, by disdaining the political jousts. Become embarrassing, he was eliminated purely and simply

© Copyright 2015 Elisabeth Fontaine-Bachelier

Arrow
Arrow
ArrowArrow
Slider
Sa vie son oeuvre

Une existence solitaire

Sa vie

Chapitre 6

Une existence solitaire

balcon

Louis II sur le « Söller », le balcon de Neuschwanstein. Portrait « der Einsame » par Ferdinand Leeke, 1890


Déjà attiré par la solitude, Louis s’y adonnera pleinement après l’intégration de la Bavière à l’empire allemand en 1870. Le monde l’écoeurait et il avait envie plus que jamais de contrecarrer cette laideur en bâtissant des châteaux qui devaient être la réponse par l’Art au monde politicien. Dès lors, Louis vivra comme il l’entend en gouvernant loin de Munich. C’est l’état qui devra venir à lui dans ses chères montagnes.

On ne lui pardonnera pas cette incartade aux règles du pouvoir : la légende du « roi fou » sera petit à petit propagée. Toutes ses particularités seront interprétées dans le mauvais sens, sa propension à vivre la nuit, son goût pour la beauté, ses dépenses, ses rapports avec ses domestiques, ses habitudes vestimentaires, langagières, son caractère, etc…

Tout au long de sa vie, le roi ne perdra jamais sa lucidité, en revanche, il fit trop confiance à des gens indignes comme Holnstein, Mayr, Hesselschwerdt, ou Ziegler. Ils le trahiront quand le vent tournera. Ce sont des serviteurs corrompus qui attendent le moment propice pour l’accabler. On racontera tout ce qu’il est possible de raconter, et ces rumeurs persistent encore aujourd’hui alors qu’il est facile de démontrer le contraire.

Les journaux intimes du roi, au nombre de neuf (voir la rubrique Annexes et documents), devront apporter la preuve de son homosexualité, alors que rien ne permet d’en tirer la moindre certitude.

Pour résumer le peu de passages qui nous sont parvenus (environ 33 pages faussées, manipulées sur plus de 400 écrites par Louis), et qui pourtant sont censés condamner le roi sans appel, il n’est question que de masturbation et pas une seule fois d’un quelconque rapport intime. Il faut se donner la peine d’analyser le texte : Louis condamne formellement l’amour charnel, et lorsqu’il parle par exemple de « l’amour et l’amitié » qu’il porte à Richard Hornig, il ne faut pas comprendre cet « amour » comme une relation coupable. Au contraire, il s’agit d’un degré supérieur de l’amitié, une sorte d’abandon spirituel total qu’exige le roi de la part de son ami. Louis emploie un langage codé, et derrière les accusations de « baisers » on ne peut rien déduire de particulier.

Tout baiser qui n’est pas appliqué à un objet « sacré »est considéré par Louis comme profane et par conséquent comme « sensuel ». Ainsi, le simple fait de témoigner son affection par une accolade ou une embrassade est ressenti comme une malédiction. Louis maudit ces « baisers » et les considère comme impurs car ils réveillent en lui un besoin de tendresse qui le conduit presque toujours à l’autoérotisme.

Quand le roi écrit dans son journal 8 : « un baiser, pur réceptacle de l’amitié et de l’amour de Richard », il met sur le même plan ce « baiser » et cet « amour » que sur celui de « pur réceptacle » ; il ne s’agit donc pas d’amour charnel ni même d’un attouchement sensuel. Louis n’emploie pas les mêmes termes pour qualifier l’amour pur, autrement dit une amitié supérieure, et l’amour sensuel, damné entre tous, que représente la masturbation.

En clair, terrorisé et mortifié par sa tendance à l’autoérotisme, Louis n’a jamais pu avoir la moindre prétention à une relation homosexuelle, ce que prouvent les journaux après une lecture attentive. Louis condamne l’amour sensuel quel qu’il soit.

Par conséquent, se poser la question de l’homosexualité du roi est une fausse question.

Sa proximité envers les hommes n’est que le résultat de son éducation presque exclusivement masculine, et aussi probablement de troubles narcissiques issus de l’enfance qui le poussent toujours vers des gens de son sexe, comme une sorte de miroir idéal à ce qu’il voudrait être. En aucun cas ces rapports ne sont caractérisés par la jouissance coupable. Louis n’a jamais non plus été « fou », ce n’était ni un paranoïaque, ni un schizophrène, mais un homme devenu dépressif, blessé dans ses convictions d’idéal, victime de sa propre sensibilité.

Ses soi-disant billets incohérents proviennent de la dictée de tel ou tel domestique corrompu ou bien ont été purement et simplement arrachées de leur contexte véritable. Le roi ne battait pas non plus jusqu’à la mort ses serviteurs : colérique et exigeant, il pouvait lui arriver tout au plus de se laisser aller à une ou deux gifles dans ses plus mauvais jours. Si les fautes avaient été plus graves, comme on a pu le prétendre sans plus ample informé, pourquoi alors avoir attendu 1885-86 pour parler ? Même avant cette date, le roi, dont la situation était déjà critique, n’aurait rien pu faire contre de telles accusations si elles avaient été fondées. Or, 1885 est bien la date qui marque le début effectif de la campagne de dénigrement contre lui.

Le grand tort du roi est d’avoir voulu vivre comme il l’entendait, en méprisant les joutes politiques. Devenu gênant, on l’élimina purement et simplement.

© Copyright 2015 Elisabeth Fontaine-Bachelier