Arrow
Arrow
ArrowArrow
Slider
His life his work

Ludwig II and the theater

His work

Chapter 7

Ludwig II and the theater

theatre

Theater of the court in Munich, XIXth century.


 The private representations can be widely considered as a creation of the king of Bavaria. They are born in 1874 because Ludwig, lover of the history and the direction, wished he could attend plays of his choice, especially centred on the French monarchy. On the other hand, fascinated by theater and giving itself entirely to his dream, Ludwig did not any more bear to be ceaselessly stared by the spectators during the public representations.

These plays constituted for the king practically the only charm of its stay compulsory for Munich. It is him who ordered the pattern and managed the direction. He attended the repetitions, sometimes playing himself the role of prompter and phonetician for the roles in French. He entrusted the care to authors, as Karl von Heigel, to draft the play with which he had even supplied him the framework.

For the theatrical culture of his country, Ludwig made translate every Shakespeare into German to popularize and to broadcast more widely the big classic works. He also made the glory of certain actors, as Joseph Kainz whom he discovered in 1881, during Marion Delorme of Hugo’s representation. He invited him in Linderhof and made him juggle with all his repertory! They left then for Switzerland, Ludwig subjecting the actor to a real theatrical initiation, in natural frame, the role of Melchtal in the William Tell of Schiller. Having disappointed Ludwig by not being the wished ideal friend, Kainz was nevertheless supported by the king in its career. He was the biggest actor of his time.

© Copyright 2015 Elisabeth Fontaine-Bachelier

1,887 Responses to Ludwig II and the theater

Arrow
Arrow
ArrowArrow
Slider
Sa vie son oeuvre

Louis II et le théâtre

Son oeuvre

Chapitre 7

Louis II et le théâtre

theatre

 Théâtre de la cour à Munich, XIXème siècle.


Les représentations privées peuvent largement être considérées comme une création du roi de Bavière. Elles virent le jour en 1874 car Louis, amoureux de l’histoire et de la mise en scène, souhaitait pouvoir assister à des pièces de son choix, surtout centrées sur la monarchie française. D’autre part, passionné de théâtre et se donnant tout entier à son rêve, Louis ne supportait plus d’être sans cesse dévisagé par les spectateurs durant les représentations publiques.

Ces pièces constituaient pour le roi pratiquement le seul attrait de son séjour obligatoire à Munich. C’est lui qui en commandait le canevas et dirigeait la mise en scène. Il assistait aux répétitions, jouant parfois lui-même le rôle de souffleur et de phonéticien pour les rôles en français. Il confiait le soin à des auteurs, comme Karl von Heigel, de rédiger la pièce dont il avait lui même fourni la trame.

Pour la culture théâtrale de son pays, Louis fit traduire tout Shakespeare en allemand afin de populariser et de diffuser plus largement les grandes œuvres classiques. Il fit également la gloire de certains acteurs, comme Joseph Kainz qu’il découvrit en 1881, lors d’une représentation de Marion Delorme de Hugo. Il l’invita au Linderhof et le fit jongler avec tout son répertoire ! Ils partirent ensuite en Suisse, Louis soumettant l’acteur à une véritable initiation théâtrale, en cadre naturel, du rôle de Melchtal dans le Guillaume Tell de Schiller. Ayant déçu Louis en n’étant pas l’ami idéal souhaité, Kainz fut malgré tout soutenu par le roi dans sa carrière. Il fut le plus grand acteur de son temps.

© Copyright 2015 Elisabeth Fontaine-Bachelier

1 888 réponses à Louis II et le théâtre