Arrow
Arrow
ArrowArrow
Slider
His life his work

Linderhof and its detached houses

His work

Chapter 3

Linderhof and its detached houses

linderhof

View of the domain of Linderhof from the temple of Venus


The profound admiration of the king for the French monarchy of Louis XIV led him three times in France, in Paris, Versailles and Reims. Returned in Bavaria, he decided, at the same time to Neuschwanstein, to make build in 1868 a detached house inspired from the Trianon of Marie-Antoinette to Versailles. Little by little, this palace, the most reduced of all and the only one finished of living on the king, took the shape of a building at once inspired on the Classicism and on the Renaissance.

Ludwig baptized this castle and his park of 30 ha Linderhof. Situated in the Graswangtal not far from the monastery of Ettal, this castle grew up, once finished in 1876, in the place of the ancient hunting lodge of his father. One of the buildings of the previous set is still visible inside the park. It is in this totally protected place that Ludwig spent most of its time.

To decorate the place, the king soon decided to add it various detached houses: first of all, the Moorish kiosk, which Ludwig, big admirer of the Orientalism, discovered in France, during the World Fair. Ten years later, he bought it and made it place right by the Venus grotto. This one was finished on August 25th, 1877, the day of the 32nd birthday of the king. Inspired by the blue grotto of Capri, it symbolizes the refuge of Hörselberg where the goddess of the Love, always she, imprisons of her charms Tannhaüser. Even there, this place symbolizes the sensual love and at the background, Venus, stripped, represents the feminine but dangerous ideal for the king.

Four other detached houses come to complete the whole park: the Moroccan house, the hut of Hunding, the hermitage of Gurnemanz, recently reconstructed, and the Moorish kiosk close to the grotto. So, Ludwig marries at once the Orientalist influence, the culture and the philosophy to which he feels close, and Wagnerian influence, with Parsifal and the Walkyrie.

© Copyright 2015 Elisabeth Fontaine-Bachelier

1,832 Responses to Linderhof and its detached houses

Arrow
Arrow
ArrowArrow
Slider
Sa vie son oeuvre

Linderhof et ses pavillons

Son oeuvre

Chapitre 3

Linderhof et ses pavillons

linderhof

Vue du domaine de Linderhof depuis le temple de Vénus


La profonde admiration du roi pour la monarchie française de Louis XIV le conduisit trois fois en France, à Paris, Versailles et Reims. Revenu en Bavière, il décida, parallèlement à Neuschwanstein, de faire construire en 1868 un pavillon inspiré du Trianon de Marie-Antoinette à Versailles. Petit à petit, ce palais, le plus réduit de tous et le seul achevé du vivant du roi, prit la forme d’un bâtiment à la fois inspiré du Classicisme et de la Renaissance.

Louis baptisa ce château et son parc de 30 ha Linderhof. Situé dans le Graswangtal non loin du monastère d’Ettal, ce château s’éleva, une fois achevé en 1876, à l’emplacement de l’ancien pavillon de chasse de son père.L’un des bâtiments du précédent ensemble est encore visible à l’intérieur du parc. C’est dans cet endroit totalement préservé que Louis passa la plupart de son temps.

Pour agrémenter l’endroit, le roi décida bientôt d’y adjoindre différents pavillons : tout d’abord, le kiosque mauresque, que Louis, grand admirateur de l’Orientalisme, découvrit en France, lors de l’Exposition Universelle. Dix ans plus tard, il l’acheta et le fit placer tout près de la grotte de Vénus. Celle-ci fut achevée le 25 août 1877, le jour du 32ème anniversaire du roi. Inspirée de la grotte bleue de Capri, elle symbolise le refuge du Hörselberg où la déesse de l’Amour, toujours elle, emprisonne de ses charmes Tannhaüser. Là encore, ce lieu symbolise l’amour sensuel et au fond, Vénus, dénudée, représente l’idéal féminin mais dangereux pour le roi.

Trois autres pavillons viennent compléter l’ensemble du parc : la maison marocaine, la hutte de Hunding, l’ermitage de Gurnemanz, récemment reconstruits. Ainsi, Louis marie à la fois l’influence orientaliste, culture et philosophie dont il se sent proche, et wagnérienne, avec Parsifal et la Walkyrie.

© Copyright 2015 Elisabeth Fontaine-Bachelier

1 832 réponses à Linderhof et ses pavillons