Arrow
Arrow
ArrowArrow
Slider
His life his work

Herrenchiemsee

His work

Chapter 4

Herrenchiemsee

herren

Main facade of Herrenchiemsee


 This last castle must be considered as the monument dedicated to the French Absolutism. Historical pageant of Versailles of Louis XIV, Herrenchiemsee is not there however a copy. The current palace of kings of France was reshaped throughout the successive reigns, thus losing its character of origin. The castle of Ludwig II is not thus Versailles which we visit today.

The king, in 1873, acquires ” the Island of the Sirs “, name given because of the presence of an ancient monastery, saving it from a planed forest devastation. He was able to make it set up his last realization, helped in it by funds paid by Bismarck from 1871. If the Hall of Mirrors is at the king’s bigger than the original, the Staircase of the Ambassadors reconstituted as for him, is not visible any more in Versailles since Louis XV. Among the most important rooms, the “Chambre d’apparat” has the leading part. It constitutes the center of the building. Ludwig took care again of every detail, watching everything with accuracy. The private bedroom of the sovereign, always containing a part of its symbolism order, is as for her smaller than the other, tense of blue, its favorite color. A globe spreading a light of the same tint is placed in front of the bed. It was necessary more than one and a half year to succeed in obtaining the wished color.

The completion of the works was not able to take place because of the lack of personal funds and especially the Ludwig’s premature death. The park was not either ended, with the exception of some fountains. On both constructed wings of the castle, the one was destroyed and the other one stayed in the state of masonry. For lack of time, Ludwig was able to live there in an effective way only one week in October, 1885, although he made every spot year to watch closely the progress of the works from 1878, date of the beginning of the main part works.

This place is, as the others, soaked with a big sensuality with the multitude of naked women represented here and there, including in the bathroom. In all his castles, the most sincere expression of his deeper ego, Ludwig makes the apology of the love shared sentimentally or sensually between men and women.

© Copyright 2015 Elisabeth Fontaine-Bachelier

1,615 Responses to Herrenchiemsee

Arrow
Arrow
ArrowArrow
Slider
Sa vie son oeuvre

Herrenchiemsee

Son oeuvre

Chapitre 4

Herrenchiemsee


herren

Façade principale de Herrenchiemsee


Ce dernier château doit être considéré comme le monument dédié à l’Absolutisme français. Reconstitution historique du Versailles de Louis XIV, Herrenchiemsee n’en n’est cependant pas une copie. L’actuel palais des rois de France a été remanié tout au long des règnes successifs, perdant donc son caractère d’origine. Le château de Louis II n’est donc pas le Versailles que l’on visite aujourd’hui.

Le roi, en 1873, acquiert « l’Île des Messieurs », nom donné à cause de la présence d’un ancien monastère, la sauvant d’une dévastation forestière programmée. Il put y faire ériger sa dernière réalisation, aidé en cela par les fonds versés par Bismarck à partir de 1871. Si la Galerie des Glaces est chez le roi plus grande que l’original, l’Escalier des Ambassadeurs reconstitué quant à lui, n’est plus visible à Versailles depuis Louis XV. Parmi les pièces les plus importantes, la chambre à coucher d’apparat a le premier rôle. Elle constitue le centre de l’édifice. Louis s’occupa à nouveau de chaque détail, surveillant tout avec minutie. La chambre à coucher privée du souverain, comportant toujours une part de sa symbolique intime, est quant à elle plus petite que l’autre, tendue de bleu, sa couleur préférée. Un globe diffusant une lumière de la même teinte est placé devant le lit. Il fallut plus d’un an et demi pour parvenir à obtenir la couleur souhaitée.

L’achèvement des travaux ne put avoir lieu à cause du manque de fonds personnels et surtout de la mort prématurée de Louis. Le parc ne fut pas terminé non plus, à l’exception de quelques fontaines. Sur les deux ailes construites du château, l’une fut détruite et l’autre resta à l’état de maçonnerie. Faute de temps, Louis ne put y résider de manière effective qu’une semaine en octobre 1885, bien qu’il se soit rendu chaque année sur place pour surveiller de près l’avancement des travaux à compter de 1878, date du début du gros-oeuvre.

Ce lieu est, comme les autres, imprégné d’une grande sensualité avec la multitude de femmes nues représentées ici et là, y compris dans la salle de bain. Dans toutes ses demeures, expression la plus sincère de son Moi le plus profond, Louis fait l’apologie de l’amour partagé sentimentalement ou sensuellement entre hommes et femmes.

© Copyright 2015 Elisabeth Fontaine-Bachelier

1 613 réponses à Herrenchiemsee