Arrow
Arrow
ArrowArrow
Slider
His life his work

Cinema

Today

Chapter 3

Cinema

visconti

Photography of film set, Ludwig of Luchino Visconti


This way, things are hardly satisfactorier with in particular two big movies, and two others in the sharply more reduced means, but on the other hand much more interesting on the documentary plan.

Ludwig II of Helmut Käutner, with OW Fischer, on 1954.

This movie, of very well-kept aspect, has the merit to be relatively respectful of the history, even if the director is sometimes tried to show the king under a delirious light. The shooting took place for the greater part in natural decorations. If it is to be recommended, this movie is not nevertheless a model of loyalty in the real history. It is always planned regularly in the cinemas of the region of castles.

Ludwig of Luchino Visconti, with Helmut Berger, on 1972.

If on the aesthetic plan this movie is an indisputable success, the historic plan is as for him catastrophic: the king is represented as a decadent, tortured by his homosexuality, debauched, carnal lover of Sissi, corrupted politically and betrothed to Sophie, a model of disappointed love. The liberties taken by the film-maker are doubtless explained by a constant in all its movies of aesthetics of the decadentism and the Marxist vision of the society. To tackle with caution and cautiousness.

Ludwig 1881 of Donatello and Fosco Dubini, with Helmut Berger, on 1993.

Much less ambitious than the previous movie, but much more honest and more respectful of the history, this full-length film redraws the Swiss epic of Ludwig II with the actor Joseph Kainz. Its manner is nevertheless difficult if we possess no knowledge on the subject, this movie distinguishes itself by a differentiating play and a big poetry.

Memoirs of a cook of the king, Théodore Hierneis of Hans Jürgen Syberberg, on 1973.

At once, this movie addresses above all initiated, redrawing the narrative of the life of the most famous cook of Ludwig II. This one wrote his memoirs which constitute a precious testimony on the lifestyle of the king today. The character leads us throughout the movie on the scene where he worked for the Bavarian monarch by telling numerous anecdotes.

Ludwig II. of Peter Sehr and Marie-Noëlle, 2012.

One of the biggest flops of the history of the German cinema and maybe even all countries mixed up. It is necessary to say that the slap is deserved: everything is inept, since the (pathetic) scenario, including decorations and costumes just taken from an publicity for the soap, until the interpretation. It would even be necessary to find another term to define the “play”of the actors (?). In brief, to forget immediately, for those who will have had the courage to go up to the end (it is my job, it is necessary to know how to sacrifice itself).

© Copyright 2015 Elisabeth Fontaine-Bachelier

1,754 Responses to Cinema

Arrow
Arrow
ArrowArrow
Slider
Sa vie son oeuvre

Cinéma

Aujourd’hui

Chapitre 3

Cinéma

visconti

Photographie de plateau, « Ludwig » de Luchino Visconti


De ce côté, les choses ne sont guère plus satisfaisantes avec notamment deux grands films, et deux autres aux moyens nettement plus réduits, mais par contre beaucoup plus intéressants sur le plan documentaire.


Ludwig II
d’Helmut Käutner, avec OW Fischer, 1954.

Ce film, d’aspect très soigné, a le mérite d’être relativement respectueux de l’histoire, même si le réalisateur est parfois tenté de montrer le roi sous un jour délirant. Le tournage se déroula pour la plupart en décors naturels. S’il est à recommander, ce film n’est pourtant pas un modèle de fidélité à l’histoire véritable. Il est toujours projeté régulièrement dans les salles de cinéma de la région des châteaux.

Ludwig de Luchino Visconti, avec Helmut Berger, 1972.

Si sur le plan esthétique ce film est une incontestable réussite, le plan historique est quant à lui catastrophique : le roi est représenté comme un décadent, torturé par son homosexualité, débauché, amoureux charnel de Sissi, corrompu politiquement et fiancé à une Sophie modèle d’amour déçu. Les libertés prises par le cinéaste s’expliquent sans doute par une constante dans tous ses films d’ une esthétique du décadentisme et d’une vision marxiste de la société. A aborder avec prudence et circonspection.

Ludwig 1881 de Donatello et Fosco Dubini, avec Helmut Berger, 1993.

Beaucoup moins ambitieux que le film précédent, mais beaucoup plus honnête et respectueux de l’histoire, ce long métrage retrace l’épopée suisse de Louis II avec l’acteur Joseph Kainz. Son abord est malgré tout ardu si l’on ne possède aucune connaissance sur le sujet, ce film se distingue par un jeu nuancé et une grande poésie.

Mémoires d’un cuisinier du roi, Théodore Hierneis de Hans Jürgen Syberberg, 1973.

D’emblée, ce film s’adresse avant tout aux initiés, retraçant le récit de la vie du plus célèbre cuisinier de Louis II. Celui-ci écrivit ses mémoires qui constituent aujourd’hui un témoignage précieux sur le mode de vie du roi. Le personnage nous mène tout au long du film sur les lieux où il travailla pour le monarque bavarois en racontant de nombreuses anecdotes. Passionnant !

Ludwig II., de Peter Sehr et Marie-Noëlle, 2012.

L’un des plus gros flops de l’histoire du cinéma allemand…et peut-être même tous pays confondus. Il faut dire que la claque est méritée : tout est nul, depuis le scénario (pitoyable), en passant par les décors et les costumes tout droit sortis d’une publicité pour le savon,  jusqu’à l’interprétation. Il faudrait même trouver un autre terme pour définir le « jeu » des acteurs (?). Bref, à oublier d’urgence, pour ceux qui auront eu le courage d’aller jusqu’au bout (c’est mon bouleau, il faut savoir se sacrifier).

© Copyright 2015 Elisabeth Fontaine-Bachelier

1 824 réponses à Cinéma