Arrow
Arrow
ArrowArrow
Slider
His life his work

Richard Wagner, Ludwig II and the music of the future

His life

Chapter 2

Richard Wagner,
Ludwig II and the music of the future

wagner

Richard Wagner, photography by 1870   


Ludwig got acquainted for a long time of Wagner, even if it is just through his writings which he knows almost by heart. The musician transformed his life: the protection and the revelation to the world of this artist will be its divine mission. At once it is necessary to explain things: Richard Wagner represents for the young king a spiritual father about whom he always has, consciously or not, dreamed. Its aspiration, its ideas on the Art, its vision of the world is also his. It is at the age of 16 in 1861 when the first shock occurred by listening to Lohengrin : the prince felt a real transformation. This music, this harmony of sounds allied to a poetry which transcends her, here is the world such as he would want it … The universe is there, in front of the dazzled eyes. He will have respite from then on to pursue all which concerns the artist, closely or by far, imploring his father to allow him again to hear this miracle.

Once king, Ludwig will make the composer come to his court and will receive him having made him look to Austria by his aulique secretary Pfistermeister. The meeting so hoped will occur between both geniuses on May 5th, 1864, to the royal palace of Munich. Ludwig has only a desire: that the work of master bursts in broad daylight. For it he will give him important means, and even more, his unlimited enthusiasm, despite all.

Soon, in 1865, Tristan and Isolde will be born, and Ludwig will follow this birth with the same fever as if he had been the father there. In a way, the work of Wagner is also his because its clear-sightedness and its support so moral as financial will lead him up to the summit, up to the consecration after many cabals and treasons. Yes … Wagner will betray the trust of the king by wanting to hide him its love affair with Cosima, the woman of his conductor von Bülow. By using all the means, including the shameless lie to hide this fault with the aim of saving its situation, Wagner will fall of the base where Ludwig had placed him. Henceforth far from Munich since December, 1865, further to a cabal which forced him to leave, the musician will not maintain more than especially epistolary connections with his sovereign. This one will continue nevertheless to support him and to save several times from the bankruptcy the bayreuthian project.

The temple of the Wagnerism will so see its inauguration in 1876, thanks to Ludwig II who will go personally twice to the festival. It was always false to claim that Wagner had some political influence on Ludwig. The king did not tolerate that whoever dictate him his orders, or somehow or other try to manipulate him. Wagner however ventured on it under the Prussian pressure. Now, Ludwig II, as soon as the political question was approached changed at once subject. The multiple attempts of Wagner so that the king reshapes his cabinet failed pitifully. Furthermore, its personal ideas have never suffered from an outside influence.

When the musician died in February, 1883, Ludwig who was always visionary will say:

«This artist today cried by all, it is I who recognized him the first one, I saved him for the world. »

Ludwig knew always how to make the difference between the man and his work, and it is for this one, for its survival, that his generosity expressed herself. It was normal that it makes justice. Finally, it is essential to specify that without the clear-sightedness and the protection of Ludwig II, neither Tristan and Isolde, nor The Mastersingers, nor the Tetralogy, nor Parsifal would have been able to be born.

As will recognize later Wagner, not without bitterness:

«I owe everything to the King; without him, I would be nothing.”

© Copyright 2015 Elisabeth Fontaine-Bachelier

1,629 Responses to Richard Wagner, Ludwig II and the music of the future

Arrow
Arrow
ArrowArrow
Slider
Sa vie son oeuvre

Richard Wagner, Louis II et la musique de l’Avenir

Sa vie

Chapitre 2

Richard Wagner,
Louis II et la musique de l’Avenir

wagner
Richard Wagner, photographie
vers 1870 


Louis a depuis longtemps fait la connaissance de Wagner, même si ce n’est qu’à travers ses écrits qu’il connaît presque par cœur. Le musicien a transformé sa vie : la protection et la révélation au monde de cet artiste sera sa mission divine. Tout de suite il faut expliquer les choses : Richard Wagner représente pour le jeune roi le père spirituel dont il a toujours, consciemment ou non, rêvé. Ses aspirations, ses idées sur l’Art, sa vision du monde sont aussi les siennes. C’est à l’âge de 16 ans en 1861 que le premier choc s’est produit en écoutant Lohengrin: le prince en ressentit une véritable transformation. Cette musique, cette harmonie de sons alliée à une poésie qui la transcende, voilà le monde tel qu’il le voudrait… L’univers est là, devant ses yeux éblouis. Il n’aura de cesse dès lors de traquer tout ce qui concerne l’artiste, de près ou de loin, implorant son père de lui permettre à nouveau d’entendre ce miracle.

Une fois roi, Louis fera venir le compositeur à sa cour et le recevra après l’avoir fait chercher jusqu’en Autriche par son conseiller aulique Pfistermeister. La rencontre tant espérée se produira entre les deux génies le 5 mai 1864, au palais royal de Munich. Louis n’a qu’un désir, que l’œuvre du maître éclate au grand jour. Pour cela il lui donnera d’importants moyens, et même plus, son enthousiasme sans limites, envers et contre tout.

Bientôt, en 1865, Tristan et Isolde verra le jour, et Louis suivra cette naissance avec la même fièvre que s’il en avait été le père. D’une certaine façon, l’œuvre de Wagner est aussi la sienne puisque sa clairvoyance et son appui aussi bien moral que financier le mèneront jusqu’au sommet, jusqu’à la consécration après bien des cabales et des trahisons. Oui… Wagner trahira la confiance du roi en voulant lui cacher sa liaison avec Cosima, la femme de son chef d’orchestre von Bülow. En utilisant tous les moyens, y compris le mensonge éhonté pour cacher cette faute dans le but de sauver sa situation, Wagner tombera du piédestal où Louis l’avait placé. Désormais loin de Munich depuis décembre 1865, suite à une campagne qui le força à partir, le musicien n’entretiendra plus que des rapports surtout épistolaires avec son souverain. Celui-ci n’en continuera pourtant pas moins à le soutenir et à sauver plusieurs fois de la faillite l’entreprise bayreuthienne.

Le temple du wagnérisme verra ainsi son inauguration en 1876, grâce à Louis II qui se rendra personnellement deux fois au festival. Il a toujours été faux de prétendre que Wagner avait une quelconque influence politique sur Louis. Le roi ne tolérait pas que quiconque lui dictât ses ordres, ou même qu’on cherchât à le subvertir d’une manière ou d’une autre. Wagner s’y est cependant essayé sous la pression prussienne. Or, Louis II, dès que la question politique était abordée changeait immédiatement de sujet. Les multiples tentatives de Wagner pour que le roi remanie son cabinet échouèrent lamentablement. De plus, ses idées personnelles n’ont jamais souffert d’une influence extérieure.

Lorsque le musicien mourut en février 1883, Louis qui a toujours été visionnaire dira :
 » Cet artiste aujourd’hui pleuré par tous, c’est moi qui l’ait reconnu le premier, je l’ai sauvé pour le monde. « 

Louis a toujours su faire la différence entre l’homme et son œuvre, et c’est pour celle-ci, pour sa survie, que sa générosité s’est exprimée. Il était normal qu’il se rende justice. Enfin, il est primordial de préciser que sans la clairvoyance et la protection de Louis II, ni Tristan et Isolde, ni Les Maîtres Chanteurs, ni la Tétralogie, ni Parsifal n’auraient pu voir le jour.

Comme le reconnaîtra plus tard Wagner, non sans amertume :

« Je dois tout au Roi ; sans lui, je ne serais rien… »

© Copyright 2015 Elisabeth Fontaine-Bachelier

1 629 réponses à Richard Wagner, Louis II et la musique de l’Avenir