Arrow
Arrow
ArrowArrow
Slider
His life his work

Naissance et jeunesse

His life

Chapter 1

Birth and youth

famille
The royal family of Bavaria by 1850, in front of Hohenschwangau castle. Colored lithography by Erich Correns.


Ludwig Otto Friedrich Wilhelm was born on August 25th, 1845 near midnight and half in a big room of the castle of Nymphenburg, summer residence of the royal family of Wittelsbach. His father, Maximilien, is still only the crown prince, and it until 1848, date of the abdication of king Ludwig I., grandfather of the newborn child. The brother of Maximilien, prince Luitpold, was delighted to there at the infertility of the princely couple, because he, from his part, was recently father of a little boy named Ludwig also. If this situation went on, it is to his family that, sooner or later, would return the power. Now, regrettably for him, a few months later was born the future Ludwig II. Of resentment, by learning this news, the wife of Luitpold raised her son of the cradle and says: «today my son, you are nothing more! »

From his part, princess Marie of Bavaria, mother of Ludwig, is Hohenzollern, Prussian of birth. Both form a heterogeneous couple, him a conscientious and little expansive scholar, her, an eager for big spaces, for nature, quite in simplicity. They will be for the future Ludwig II, and for his brother Otto been born in 1848, little present parents, although doubtless mold good intentions. When Maximilien will be a king and when his elder son will become in his turn the crown prince, he will decide for him of a strict, ambitious education, and exhausting: raise at 5. am the summer, at 6. am the winter, the fast and frugal breakfast, then hours of study hardly punctuated with one or two hours of relaxation. Let us add to the theoretical and universal instruction the physical discipline, as the dance, the fencing, the manipulation of weapons, the equitation, the swimming, the drawing, the music. All these knowledges will annoy for the greater part the young prince, except the literature, the history, the natural sciences, the religious history and the teaching French which it will possess later in the perfection. All this education thus leaves only little room with the human contacts, and in particular with the filial connections.

Maximilien does not understand his elder son who seems so sensitive, who likes only the solitude and by top all the dreamlike universe of the big Scandinavians legends. He does not know how to speak to him and does not moreover look for the contact. As for Marie, if Ludwig shares with her the passion of the climbing and the mountain, he can hardly find more understanding from her part, because she considers ridiculous «the surges” of her son, as she calls them, what hurts him cruelly. Furthermore, Otto, his brother, more opened, more smiling, more spread has her preference, and is much less complicated to educate. Ludwig thus withdraws on him and will develop face to face people in charge of his education, feelings often more lively than towards his parents of whom he is afraid or who annoy him.

Louis will spend a childhood punctuated with tops and with bottom in a nevertheless magnificent frame which will fill its life in a significant way: the grand site, the summer, of Hohenschwangau where he will live thanks to painted frescoes all the big legends mythical as Lohengrin, Charlemagne, Jerusalem delivered, the story of Hohenstaufen, Nibelungen. He will wake up literally in an internal life which will take the place of that, by too disappointing, the outside world. Ludwig is going to grow, little by little, in this world which suppresses him and to which he would like to give the dimensions of the Art.

He is going to become big, very big, and very beautiful, his idealistic and visionary character will assert itself more and more according to its Scott’s readings, Schiller and Goethe. He will assimilate so-so the theoretical, but incomplete data, which do not prepare him for the future royal job. And so on March 10th, 1864, after a short disease even today suspect, Maximilien II gave up the ghost at the age of only 53 years. He leaves the crown in the hands of his son Ludwig, 18-year-old, and armed with the best will of the world for lack of being prepared as it is necessary in its heavy responsibility.

Ludwig II of Bavaria’s reign begins.

© Copyright 2015 Elisabeth Fontaine-Bachelier

Arrow
Arrow
ArrowArrow
Slider
Sa vie son oeuvre

Naissance et jeunesse

Sa vie

Chapitre 1

Naissance et jeunesse

famille

La famille royale de Bavière vers 1850 devant Hohenschwangau, lithographie
en couleur de Erich Correns 


Louis Otto Frédéric Guillaume est né le 25 août 1845 aux alentours de minuit et demi dans une grande chambre du château de Nymphenburg, résidence d’été de la famille royale des Wittelsbach. Son père, Maximilien, n’est encore que le prince héritier, et cela jusqu’en 1848, date de l’abdication du roi Louis Ier, grand-père du nouveau-né. Le frère de Maximilien, le prince Luitpold, se réjouissait jusque là de l’infertilité du couple héritier, car lui, de son côté, était père depuis peu d’un petit garçon prénommé Louis également. Si cette situation se prolongeait, c’est à sa famille que, tôt ou tard, reviendrait le pouvoir. Or, malheureusement pour lui, quelques mois plus tard naquit le futur Louis II. De dépit, à cette nouvelle, l’épouse de Luitpold souleva son fils du berceau et dit : « Aujourd’hui mon fils, tu n’es plus rien ! »

De son côté, la princesse Marie de Bavière, la mère de Louis, est une Hohenzollern, prussienne de naissance. Tous deux forment un couple hétérogène, lui un érudit consciencieux et peu expansif, elle, avide de grands espaces, de nature, toute en simplicité. Ils seront pour le futur Louis II, et pour son frère Otto né en 1848, des parents peu présents, quoique sans aucun doute pétris de bonnes intentions. Lorsque Maximilien sera roi et que son fils aîné deviendra à son tour le prince héritier, il décidera pour lui d’une éducation stricte, ambitieuse, et épuisante : lever à 5h l’été, à 6h l’hiver, petit déjeuner rapide et frugal, puis des heures d’étude à peine ponctuées d’une ou deux heures de détente. Ajoutons à l’instruction théorique et universelle la discipline physique, comme la danse, l’escrime, le maniement des armes, l’équitation, la natation, le dessin, la musique. Tous ces savoirs ennuieront pour la plupart le jeune prince, sauf la littérature, l’histoire, les sciences naturelles, l’histoire religieuse et l’enseignement du français qu’il possédera plus tard à la perfection. Tout cet enseignement ne laisse donc que peu de place aux contacts humains, et en particulier aux rapports filiaux.

Maximilien ne comprend pas son fils aîné qui semble si sensible, qui n’aime que la solitude et par dessus tout l’univers onirique des grandes légendes nordiques. Il ne sait pas lui parler et ne cherche d’ailleurs pas le contact. Quant à Marie, si Louis partage avec elle la passion de l’escalade et de la montagne, il ne peut guère trouver plus de compréhension de son côté, car elle juge ridicule « les envolées » de son fils, comme elle les appelle, ce qui le blesse cruellement. De plus, Otto, son frère, plus ouvert, plus souriant, plus épanoui a sa préférence, et est bien moins compliqué à élever. Louis se replie donc sur lui et développera vis à vis des gens chargés de son éducation, des sentiments souvent bien plus vifs qu’à l’égard de ses parents qu’il craint ou qui l’ennuient.

Louis passera une enfance ponctuée de hauts et de bas dans un cadre pourtant magnifique qui remplira sa vie de manière significative : le site grandiose, l’été, de Hohenschwangau où il vivra grâce aux fresques peintes toutes les grandes sagas mythiques comme Lohengrin, Charlemagne, la Jérusalem délivrée, l’histoire des Hohenstaufen, des Nibelungen. Il s’éveillera littéralement à une vie intérieure qui prendra la place de celle, par trop décevante, du monde extérieur. Louis va grandir, petit à petit, dans ce monde qui l’étouffe et auquel il voudrait donner les dimensions de l’Art.

Il va devenir grand, très grand, très beau, son caractère idéaliste et visionnaire s’affirmera de plus en plus au fur et à mesure de ses lectures de Scott, Schiller et Goethe. Il assimilera tant bien que mal les données théoriques, mais incomplètes, qui ne le préparent pas à son futur métier de roi. Et c’est ainsi que le 10 mars 1864, après une courte maladie encore aujourd’hui suspecte, Maximilien II rendit son dernier soupir à l’âge de seulement 53 ans. Il laisse la couronne dans les mains de son fils Louis, âgé de 18 ans, et armé de la meilleure volonté du monde à défaut d’être préparé comme il se doit à sa lourde charge.

Le règne de Louis II de Bavière commence.

© Copyright 2015 Elisabeth Fontaine-Bachelier