Arrow
Arrow
ArrowArrow
Slider
His life his work

Legend and regency

His life

Chapter 9

Legend and regency

muse

blaze of glory of king Ludwig, painting by Ferdinand Leeke, 1890


Ludwig II was thus eliminated for political reasons: we could not put in danger the new regency by risking an escape of the king. Very loved and respected, sooner or later things would have badly turned and the traitors would have been able to be afraid of an exemplary judgment for the charge of ”coup d’état”. Everything was thus for best and the disappearance of the king arranged everybody.

Its funeral was celebrated with great pomp on June 19th, 1886, by having beforehand preventing the Queen mother from coming to meditate to Berg, then in Munich, near her son. We made an autopsy which revealed nothing of the causes of the death, but which tried hard to justify the insanity at all costs, by weighing the brain of the king and by noticing, among others, a weight lower than the normal.

The regency of Luitpold thus built its legitimacy on the fashionable maintaining legend of the “mad king”. If Luitpold had not really been interested in the power as he so often said it, why not to have passed on the crown to his son Ludwig, because Otto, the brother of the king, reigned only in principle because of his madness? Instead of it, he took the regency, conferring king’s title to his son only in his death in 1912.

Ludwig became the king Ludwig III and witnessed six years later the end of the kingdom of Bavaria.

© Copyright 2015 Elisabeth Fontaine-Bachelier

1,752 Responses to Legend and regency

Arrow
Arrow
ArrowArrow
Slider
Sa vie son oeuvre

Légende et régence

Sa vie

Chapitre 9

Légende et régence

muse

Apothéose du roi Louis,
par Ferdinand Leeke, 1890 


On élimina donc Louis II pour des raisons politiques : on ne pouvait pas mettre en péril la nouvelle régence en risquant une évasion du roi. Très aimé et respecté, tôt ou tard les choses auraient mal tourné et les traîtres auraient pu craindre une sentence exemplaire pour l’accusation de coup d’état. Tout fut donc pour le mieux et la disparition du roi arrangea tout le monde.

On célébra ses obsèques en grande pompe le 19 juin 1886, en ayant au préalable empêché la reine-mère de venir se recueillir à Berg, puis à Munich, auprès de son fils. On fit une autopsie qui ne révéla rien des causes de la mort, mais qui s’efforça de justifier la démence à tout prix, en pesant le cerveau du roi et en remarquant, entre autres, un poids inférieur à la normale.

La régence de Luitpold construisit donc sa légitimité sur la légende maintenant en vogue du « roi-fou ». Si Luitpold n’avait vraiment pas été intéressé par le pouvoir comme il l’a si souvent dit, pourquoi ne pas avoir transmis la couronne à son fils Ludwig, puisque Otto, le frère du roi, ne régnait qu’en principe à cause de sa folie ? Au lieu de cela, il prit la régence, ne conférant le titre de roi à son fils qu’à sa mort en 1912.
Ludwig devint le roi Louis III et fut témoin six ans plus tard de la fin du royaume de Bavière.

© Copyright 2015 Elisabeth Fontaine-Bachelier

1 751 réponses à Légende et régence